skip navigation

Homeless

Who is homeless?

McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act of 2001-Title X, Part C of the No Child Left Behind Act-Sec 725)

The term homeless children and youth-

A). Means individuals who lack a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence; and

B). Includes-

  1. Children and youths who are sharing the housing of other persons due to loss of housing, economic hardship, or similar reason; are living in motels, hotels, trailer parks, or camping grounds due to the lack of alternative accommodations; are living in emergency or transitional shelters; are abandoned in hospitals; or a awaiting foster care placement;
  2. Children and youths who have a primary nighttime residence that is a public or private place not designed for or ordinarily used as a regular sleeping accommodation for human beings
  3. Children and youths who are living in a cars, parks, public spaces, abandoned buildings, substandard housing, bus/train stations, or similar settings, and
  4. Migratory children who qualify as homeless for the purposes of this subtitle because the children are living in circumstances described in clauses (1) through (3).


Education of Homeless Children Act (105 ILCS 45/)
http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs5.asp?ActID=1013&ChapterID=17

Homeless Family Placement Act (310 ILCS 85/) 
http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=1439&ChapterID=29

Homeless Liaisons:

District Liaisons:  
Mina Griffith, Assistant Superintendent for Student Services.  Email:  mgriffit@psd202.org  Phone:  (815) 577-4023
Kathy Pristas, Coordinator for Student Services.  Email:  kpristas@psd202.org  Phone:  (815)577-4023
 

School Liaisons:

Last Name First Name Building Email Address
Elementary Homeless Liaisons
Riordan Holly BM/Ina Brixey hriordan@psd202.org
Edmondson Shannon CE sedmonds@psd202.org
Cook Cindy CL ccook@psd202.org
Connelly Angelica CR aconnoll@psd202.org
Herlien Anya CS aherlien@psd202.org
Kennell Danielle EE dkennell@psd202.org
Aguilar Sharon EP saguilar@psd202.org
Morris Shirley FR smorris@psd202.org
Vance Catherine GP cvance@psd202.org
Angeloni Alyson LB aangelon@psd202.org
Hall Elaine LF ehall@psd202.org
Butterbach Kellie LN kbutterb@psd202.org
Jasurda Marybeth MV mjasurda@psd202.org
Bochenzcak Daniel RI dbochenc@psd202.org
Khan Lindsey RV lkhan@psd202.org
Mastro Lori TJ lmastro@psd202.org
Wisniewski Paula WE pwisniew@psd202.org
DaMassa Jennifer WG jdamassa@psd202.org
Lulek Amanda WO alulek@psd202.org
Middle School Homeless Liaisons
Domek Samantha AS sdomek@psd202.org
Pettey Rebecca AS rpettey@psd202.org
Neugebauer Miriam DP mneugeba@psd202.org
Pavlich Chris IJ cpavlich@psd202.org
Demma Jessica IT jdemma@psd202.org
Brown Jill JK jbrown@psd202.org
Wieland Autumn TR awieland@psd202.org
High School Homeless Liaisons
Schlanser Megan PA mschlans@psd202.org
Neal Sheri PA (Turnabout) sneal@psd202.org
Kaplan Alyssa PEHS akaplan@psd202.org
Bloodgood Josh PHSCC jbloodgood@psd202.org
Kaplan Alyssa PNHS akaplan@psd202.org
Engler Elisabeth PSHS bengler@psd202.org



Resources for Families:
What You Need to Know to Help Your Child in School:  A guide for Parents, Guardians, and Caregivers
http://center.serve.org/nche/downloads/parentbrochure_eng.pdf

Will County Regional Office of Education http://www.willroe.org/index.php/services/homeless/

The National Center for Homeless Education (NCHE) www.serve.org/nche
Contact: Diana Bowman, Director.  Phone: (800)755-3277 Email:  dbowman@serve.org

U.S. Department of Education, Education for Homeless Children and Youth Program www.ed.gov/programs/homeless/index.html
Contact: Gary Rutkin, Coordinator.  Phone: (202)260-4412 Email:  gary.rutkin@ed.gov

The National Association for the Education of Homeless Children and Youth(NAEHCY) www.naehcy.org
Contact: Patricia Popp, President.  Phone:  (757)221-7776